Excellence in business finalists announced

By | |

Showcasing the very best of businesses across the South West, the finalists have been announced for the Excellence in Business Training Awards 2019, supported by Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Local Enterprise Partnership (Clos LEP).

Hosted by CCB Training, part of The Cornwall College Group, Elaine McMahon, Principal and Chief Executive, said “we were absolutely amazed by the number of applications this year”.

“I’d like to thank all the companies from across the South West who took the time to submit nominations. We would also like to thank our judges who had a tough decision, as everyone who applied deserves recognition for their commitment to training.”

The finalists were chosen by a panel of judges made up of some of the region’s most experienced business professionals.

Mark Peters from Pirate FM said: “It was very exciting to read through the skills apprentice applications this year! The entries were very impressive; it’s a very difficult competition to judge.  I also think the employers need to get recognition as the responsibility and commitment that we see year in year out from them is enabling the apprentices to progress faster than ever.”

Sue Hook from Sapience HR commented: “It is an absolute privilege and an honour to be a sponsor and judge for the Awards.  We believe that a business will only ever be a success if the people within that business are also a success.  People power is all too often the unrecognised and unharnessed, asset of a company.

“It’s the people who work in the business that make it a success and commitment to training those people, to be the very best that they can be, is the only way to ensure that a business can concurrently be the best that it can be.”

The winners of the 10 categories will be announced at a festival-style awards ceremony at The Cornish Tipi Weddings, near St Kew from 6.30pm on the 18th July.  The evening, full of business leaders and managers from across the South West, is also a great opportunity to celebrate excellence in training while being entertained and enjoying locally sourced food and drink.

If you’d like to attend you can purchase tickets for just £60 plus VAT each by calling 0800 731 7594 or by emailing [email protected].

Congratulations to the finalists that include:

Outstanding Commitment to Apprenticeships Small (1-50 employees)

Sponsored by Cornwall Apprenticeships

  1. Carefree
  2. St Austell Town Council
  3. Whyfield

Outstanding Commitment to Apprenticeships Medium (51-249 employees)

Sponsored by Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Local Enterprise Partnership (Clos LEP)

  1. Baker Toms
  2. Ocean Housing Group
  3. West Pharmaceutical Services

Outstanding Commitment to Apprenticeships Large (250+ employees)

Sponsored by CCB Training

  1. Corserv
  2. Eden Project
  3. Pendennis Shipyard

Young Apprentice of the Year (16-18 years old)

Sponsored by Business Cornwall

  1. Amber Fry – Seasalt Cornwall
  2. Jai Clemes – West Pharmaceutical Service Cornwall
  3. Levi Mitchell – RG Kellow

Professional Apprentice of the Year (19+ years old)

Sponsored by the Centre of Housing Support (CHS)

  1. Charlie Penhaligon – RRL
  2. Joseph Meridew – Seasalt Cornwall
  3. Kelly O’Toole – Royal Cornwall Hospital Trust


Skills Apprentice of the Year (19+ years old)

Sponsored by Pirate FM

  1. Daniel Cook – Babcock International
  2. Ross Harvey – RG Kellow
  3. Lauren Carlyon– DS Smith Packaging

Rural Apprentice of the Year (19+ years old)

Sponsored by a local charity announced on the night

  1. Ben Watts – Cormac Solutions
  2. Benjamin Edwards – CH & RJ Jordan and Son
  3. Megan Lowman – Eden Project


Outstanding Commitment to Training Small (1 – 50 Employees)

Sponsored by Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Skills Hub

  1. Hodgsons
  2. RG Kellow
  3. Whyfield


Outstanding Commitment to Training Medium/Large (51+ employees)

Sponsored by Unlocking Potential

  1. A&P Falmouth
  2. Ocean Housing Group
  3. Pendennis Shipyard


Individual Champion to Staff Development

Sponsored by Sapience HR

  1. James Hampton – Seasalt Cornwall
  2. Janine Laity – Frugi
  3. Michelle Pearce – RRL